Windows 2008 Server Roles : Different Faces

Active Directory Certificate Services (AD CS) : AD CS role services install on a number of operating systems, including Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, and Windows 2000 Server. Naturally the fullest implementation of AD CS is only possible on Windows Server 2008. You can deploy AD CS as a single standalone certification authority (CA), or you can deploy multiple servers and configure them as root, policy, and certificate issuing authorities. You also have a variety of Online Responder configuration


Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS) : This is the role in the Windows Server 2008 operating system that stores information about users, computers, and other resources on a network. AD DS is also used for directory-enabled applications such as Microsoft Exchange Server. AD also stores all information required for Group Policy.

Active Directory Federation Services (AD FS) : AD FS employs technology that allows users over the life of a single online session to securely share digital identity and entitlement rights, or ‘‘claims,’’ across security and enterprise boundaries. This role—introduced and supported on all operating systems since Microsoft WindowsServer 2003 R2— provides Web Single Sign-On (SSO) services to allow a user to access multiple, related Web applications.

Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS) : This service is ideal if you are required to support directory-enabled applications. AD LDS is a Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) compliant directory service.

Active Directory Rights Management Services (AD RMS) : This service augments an organization’s security strategy by protecting information through persistent usage policies. The key to the service is that the right management policies are bound to the information no matter where it resides or to where it is moved. AD RMS is used to lock down documents, spreadsheets, e-mail, and so on from being infiltrated or ending up in the wrong hands. AD RMS, for example, prevents e-mails from being accidentally forwarded to the wrong people.

The Application Server role : This role supports the deployment and operation of custom business applications that are built with Microsoft .NET Framework. The Application Server role lets you choose services for applications that require COM+, Message Queuing, Web services, and Distributed Coordinated Transactions.

DHCP and DNS : These two roles install these two critical network service services required for every network. They support Active Directory integration and support IPv6.

Fax Server role : The fax server lets you set up a service to send and receive faxes over your network. The role creates a fax server and installs the Fax Service Manager and the Fax service on the server.

File Server role : This role lets you set up all the bits, bells, and whistles that come with a Windows file server. This role also lets you install Share and Storage Management, the Distributed File System (DFS), the File Server Resource Manager application for managing file servers, Services for Network File System (NFS), Windows File Services, which include stuff like the File Replication Service (FRS), and so on.

Network Policy and Access Services : This provides the following network connectivity solutions: Network Access Protection (NAP), the client health policy creation, enforcement,and remediation technology; secure wireless and wired access (802.1X), wireless access points, remote access solutions, virtual private network (VPN) services, Radius, and more.

Print Management role : The print services provide a single interface that you use to manage multiple printers and print servers on your network.

Terminal Services role : This service provides technologies that enable users to access Windows-based programs that are installed on a terminal server. Users can execute applications remotely (they still run on the remote server) or they can access the full Windowsdesktop on the target server.

Universal Description, Discovery, and Integration (UDDI) : UDDI Services provide capabilities for sharing information about Web services. UDDI is used on the intranet, between entities participating on an extranet, or on the Internet.

Web Server role : This role provides IIS 7.0, the Web server, ASP.NET, and the Windows Communication Foundation (WCF).

Windows Deployment Services : These services are used for deployment of new computers in medium to large organizations.

Hyper-V Role : A Hypervisor platform to host and manage virtual machines in an efficient way. Introduced in Windows 2008.

Note : Windows 2008 available only in 64Bit for Production Environments. For demo purposes you can download 32bit version.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Please subscribe now.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

VMWare Interview Questions & Tips

Windows: 2012 Server: Restoration of server from ransomware brute force attack – Real time experience

Windows and VMware : System Admin Responsibilities